September 17, 2021

MP Now News

Mortgage News

Your area is approved for disaster assistance. What does that mean?

On September 5, President Joe Biden made major disaster statements for the population New Jersey counties from Bergen, Gloucester, Hunterdon, Middlesex, Passaic and Somerset as well as for the Boroughs of New York from the Bronx, Kings, Queens, Richmond and Westchester.

The president’s statement allows HUD to offer assistance to affected families living in these districts. Below is what it means to you:

1. Exemption from foreclosure

HUD’s automatic 90-day moratorium on foreclosures Federal Housing Administration (FHA) insured home mortgages began on the day of the President’s Declaration on Major Disasters and Foreclosures on Native American borrowers guaranteed under the Section 184 Indian Home Loan Guarantee Program. For help, call your loan service provider or the FHA Resource Center at 1-800-304-9320.

2. Mortgage insurance available

The HUD’s Section 203 (h) program provides FHA insurance to disaster survivors whose homes have been destroyed or damaged enough to require reconstruction or replacement and face the daunting task of rebuilding or buying another home. Borrowers from participating FHA-approved lenders are eligible for 100 percent financing, including closing costs.

3. Insurance available for both mortgage and home rehabilitation

The Section 203 (k) HUD loan program enables those who have lost their home to purchase or refinance a home along with its repair through a single mortgage. It also enables homeowners who have damaged homes to fund the renovation of their existing single family home.

4. Exchange of information on housing providers and HUD programs

The HUD will provide information to FEMA and the states about housing providers who may have available units in the affected counties.

5. Flexibility towards states and local governments

The HUD will have governmental exemptions to allow communities more flexibility in using their existing funds for community development block grants, Continuum of Care, HOME, housing for those with AIDS, and emergency solutions. These exemptions will make it easier for communities to respond quickly after Hurricane Ida.

6. Flexibility for public housing authorities

In response to the devastating aftermath of Hurricane Ida, public housing authorities can apply for the administrative flexibility they need through disaster exemptions.

7. HUD-approved housing advice centers are ready to help

HUD-approved housing counseling agencies have advisors on hand to help those affected by natural disasters determine the need for assistance and the resources available.Click here to find a housing advice center recognized by the HUD.

8. Help with discrimination in housing

Housing discrimination sometimes occurs when people try to find an apartment after a disaster. The HUD office for fair living and equal opportunities is available to people who believe they have experienced discrimination in the housing sector. If you believe your rights have been violated, you should file a fair housing complaint with the US Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). You can file a complaint by calling HUD at 1-800-669-977 or by visiting How to File a Complaint HUD’s website.